Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Cuffs Continue, Plus Swatching

Posted by mtmom on September 26, 2010

I had worked 3 crossings of the cables on Robert’s forest green hose, when I decided to rip back — the garter ribbing seemed too long; I wanted to begin the cables sooner.  I also made another change going forward.  Can you see what it is (besides the left-twist vs right-twist)?  I had at first been pretty much copying his old favorite hose (left photo); second photo shows newer version of cuff.

Cuff on old favorite

Cuff on new pair, 2nd version

Besides knitting, other things have been keeping me busy this past week.

One is a kind of swatching, I guess you could say.

color selection #7

We’re painting the house!  It’s been 10 years, so it’s definitely time.  My 10-year-old DD and I have been painting samples of colors onto the walls, in big enough patches to be able to screen out the already-color that’s all around the “swatch”.  This is the current pick:  “hurricane” by Frazee; medium-value base (vs white or dark) with pigment RGB numbers 171, 158, and 147.  Sort of a storm-cloud color. . . .  Trim will be coordinating off-white.  Roof is being replaced as well — we lost lots of tiles in this winter’s heavy snows.  I need to pick between charcoal, dark grey-brown, and medium gray.

Other swatches on the needles — Sunday “off” is fun for playing and planning and considering, since I’m not focusing on production.

Gingham

"College" yarn

I’m thinking I don’t have the right combination of colors in the gingham swatch.  The green is solid, but the yellow/green/orange/pink is variegated.  I plan to try a blue solid next. . . .

The blue/black/white speckled yarn I’ve had in my stash for several years.  I had been planning to make a sweater with it, but I recently saw a shrug pattern that interests me, and this yarn may work for that.  That’s why I’m trying mistake-stitch rib at the top of the swatch. . . .

.

.

.

.

Meanwhile, the seasons advance.  We have a few flowers remaining.

Tall hybrid phlox

(Nice, large photos follow!)

Echinacea with bumblebee

2 Responses to “Cuffs Continue, Plus Swatching”

  1. Jean said

    I’m back! I am so happy to be able to visit my blogs again, I’ve been given a very nice used computer and am still setting things up on it, but could not resist visiting your blog as soon as I could. What a busy post so full of things to share with us. The Echinacea is so sweet with that dear little bumblebee on it. I had this plant in my garden and it grew to over 4 feet tall!

    • mtmom said

      Welcome back, Jean! I’ve missed you. 🙂 4 foot tall echinacea? Wow! I thought ours were tall at about 2 feet, maybe 2 1/2. . . .

      Hope to be hearing from you regularly again! -Deborah

Leave a Reply

 
