Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Kilt Hose: 1 Pair Progressing, 3 more in the Wings

Posted by mtmom on August 1, 2010

That’s a lot to keep in my head, but I’m managing not to feel overwhelmed. . . at least, most of the time.  🙂

Forest Green Heather Wool-Ease for Robert Watt

Let’s see. . . .  There’s Robert’s 2nd pair on the needles currently, . . . then his 3rd pair brewing in my imagination, which will probably be a recreation of Eric’s pair (knit by Elsie W, Stuart’s Scottish mum back home, who encourages me to “take over the knitting” as it “seems to be a dying art” over there), . . . then his 1st pair awaiting new cuffs or else frogging, . . . and in the midst somewhere we have repairs to Aaron’s argyle hose and some design work for him as well.  Actions on these fronts this past week included lots of online and live shopping for appropriate yarns for Aaron’s hose idea and Robert’s 3rd pair, online correspondence with Elsie W in Scotland, and knitting on Robert’s Wool-Ease pair with the seed-stitch ribs.

I’ve progressed a few inches since this photo.  Both socks are now between 4 and 5 inches past the completion of the heel (marked with little pins), and I’ve begun the calf-shaping section.  I plan to increase more slowly in the lower portions, and more quickly in the upper sections of the leg.  For guidelines, I’m looking to Lady Veronica Gainsord’s Designs for Knitting Kilt Hose and Knickerbocker Stockings (Schoolhouse Press, 1995), Priscilla A. Gibson-Roberts’ Simple Socks:  Plain and Fancy (Nomad Press, 2001), and Wendy Johnson’s Socks from the Toe Up (Potter Craft, 2009).

Outdoors, we are having LOTS of rain and pleasantly moderate temperatures.

Back yard Thistle -- pretty blooms, but VERY prickly

2 Responses to “Kilt Hose: 1 Pair Progressing, 3 more in the Wings”

  1. jean said

    The new kilt hose are coming along pretty quickly, you’ve really got them down now. I personally like the way the over dyed sock came out (from your previous post). The thistle is really pretty, but I hate prickly plants, they seem to find me no matter how I try to avoid them.

    • mtmom said

      You like the overdyed hose too, Jean? Hmmmmmm. I may have to give them a second chance. I’ll see if I can find a willing model and get some on-leg images.

Leave a Reply

 
