Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Citius, Altius, Fortius — Part 1

Posted by mtmom on February 16, 2010

The Olympic creed:  “The most important thing in the Olympic Games is not to win but to take part, just as the most important thing in life is not the triumph but the struggle. The essential thing is not to have conquered but to have fought well.”

The Olympic motto: “Citius, Altius, Fortius” (Latin for “faster/swifter, higher, stronger”)

Both are attributed (by Wikipedia and MapofWorld.com) to frenchman Baron Pierre de Coubertin, as inspired by speeches he heard from Dominican Father Henri Martin Didon (the motto, 1894), and Bishop Ethelbert Talbot (the creed, 1908).

So much knitting (and so little blogging, either writing or reading) has been going on, mostly in conjunction with the Knitting Olympics/Ravelympics.

First night's work

During the Opening Ceremonies, I cast on for Lion Brand’s free pattern, the Inishturk Tam, a simple cabled hat, using a gifted ball of mystery yellow-orange acrylic that gives me 4 stitches x 6 rounds per square inch on US 9 needles.  I have made a few modifications. . . .

1) 6 multiples of the pattern instead of 7, to get a child’s size.  Leading to….

2) casting on 80 stitches for the ribbing.  I had to cast on 3 times before I got it right!

3) fewer rounds of ribbing and of cabling, again because I want a smaller end-size.

4) working my left-twists without a cable needle.

5) twisting the knit-1 columns on either side of the braids, by k1tbl, because it looks better to my eye.

as of Monday afternoon Youngest DD wants you all to see her first-ever square of single crochet!

I taught her on Monday while she and her sister were home for Presidents’ Day school holiday.

She has since moved on to double crochet.

You can see some of the patterning in my hat, too.  🙂

.

.

.

.

.

On Sunday, I switched gears.

I decided to see if I could start and finish a cap in one day!

And I did!  😀  LOOKIE!!! I GOT A MEDAL!

for Charity Chunky Hat-in-a-Day

(What follows is basically an overview of my Square-Top cap pattern.)

Start by working a 1" stockinette square. Then pick up stitches on all 4 sides.

Work paired increases at 4 points eor until "big enough".

Put onto 16" circular needles, if desired.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Work even until "long enough" to begin band: rolled, ribbed, or other.

Work bottom band and bind off stretchily. Tuck in ends.

Gift and enjoy!

2 Responses to “Citius, Altius, Fortius — Part 1”

  1. Jean said

    Congrats! What fine looking children you have too. Giving your knitting as a gift I find to be very rewarding.

  2. Nancy said

    Three cheers for your medal!!!

Leave a Reply

 
