Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Gifts: Outgoing and Incoming

Posted by mtmom on December 27, 2009

I am so glad I limited my goals for gift-knitting this year!  Come Monday before Christmas (12/21) I was done and could turn my attention elsewhere, and not miss the “holi” of the holi-day; could take some time to decompress.  I didn’t try to make something for everyone, but did make some nice things for a few close friends and extended-family members.  The ribbed hat was VERY much appreciated; the neck-scarf and mitts I haven’t heard back about yet, but I hope to.  I took some photos of “the thumb trick” on the second mitt, to show you.

Right mitt has thumb. Left mitt has scrap yarn knitted in, where the thumb will now go.

Scrap yarn picked out and freed stitches picked up with dpns. I'll knit around the hole with new yarn.

Thumb is knit for 4 rounds and bound off (in purl, to reduce curling).

.

Yarn is Debbie Bliss “Merino Aran” in charcoal.

Needles are Brittany Birch double-points in US size 6 (4 mm).  These are smaller needles than one would usually use with an aran-weight yarn; the purpose for that choice is to achieve a firmer fabric than you’d want in a sweater.

Pattern is “Fetching” from summer 2006 issue of Knitty.

.

.

.

.

.

.

This knitter also *received* craft-related gifts that I thought you might like to see.

Vintage Magazines

My sister-in-law sent me these magazines that her knitter-mother had saved from the seventies, some originating in New Zealand.  Her idea was that, since some of these styles have come back into fashion, I might be able to glean some ideas for new patterns from the old patterns within these pages.  Interesting, eh?  I’ll have to spend some time looking through them and letting my imagination work.

What do they make YOU think of?

3 Responses to “Gifts: Outgoing and Incoming”

  1. Nancy said

    I still have that McCall’s Needlework! It was hidden under some of my mother’s books! Happy Holidays!

  2. Jean said

    With this chilly winter these will come in super handy. If I lived where you did I’d probably have mitts in every color and various thickness – hats, scarves, cowls, anything thick and warm. Your climate makes your knitting extremely valuable.

Leave a Reply

 
