Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Mostly Gift-Knitting

Posted by mtmom on December 14, 2009

That kinda sums up my recent efforts.

Once I’d finished my submission for Cast On, I put my attention on knitting some gifts for friends and family.  I’d already finished the Icelandic neck scarf (remember the ruffle-edged pink and purple lace number?), but now I wanted to make a ribbed cap and some fingerless mitts.  Here’s how things stand today.

Top View

The cap is done.

Improvised, bottom-up, 1×1 ribbing, 84 stitches, in Debbie Bliss “Merino Aran” on US 8 (5 mm) needles.

Left mitt, "Fetching" from knitty.com

And the mitts are progressing.

Same yarn (I have quite a bit left still), but on US 6 (4 mm) needles, to get a firmer fabric.

Pattern is “Fetching”, by Cheryl Niamath, published in knitty.com’s Summer 2006 issue  (link to pattern) .

This charcoal color is the closest I want to get to knitting with black (both recipients like black), but I like the yarn’s texture.

2 Responses to “Mostly Gift-Knitting”

  1. Jean said

    Looks like your knitting things that people will REALLY use. Everyone could use a black knitted item, they hide wear and any smudges that could happen. Keep warm & toasty.

  2. Nancy said

    My knitted gifts went from about 15 people down to zero, with changes in lives….now I’d get back to those special projects if this wrist would cooperated better! (Yes, it’s getting better gradually, I really did a number on myself!)Your projects are looking great!

Leave a Reply

 
