Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

More KAL-ing, ILL-ing, and Other-ing

Posted by mtmom on November 5, 2009

KAL = Knit-along;  ILL = Inter-library Loan.  No, we’re not sick (hurray!  Thank you, Lord).

The Schoolhouse Press knitalong (link here) has moved from Iceland to the Faroe Islands, and from lace scarf to footlets.  I began with a 2-color version, but switched over to solids to be quicker.FFootlet_1"Faroese_blue_heel

I have finished the blue footlet, edging it with gray, and began a gray foot to edge with blue (DS’s school colors).  I also plan to embroider an owl (mascot) on each toe.

His feet are bigger than mine. . . .

FFootlet_blue_edgedFFootlet_gray_heel

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I love to borrow knitting books!  When my libray doesn’t own a particular title, I can place an inter-library loan request for free.  If they can find it, and the other library agrees, they get it for me.   Recent titles include Hip Knit Hats by Cathy Carron, and Iris Schreier’s Reversible Knits.  From the former, I knit this “rose” embellishment (about palm-size).

From the latter, I hope to try some cables.knit_rose_top

Here’s another top-down cap, this time in Wisdom Yarn’s “Skye” bulky and using Judy’s Magic Cast-on.  The yarn color-changes even look good inside out!

brown_cap_onCh_profilebrown_cap_reverse_onChMost of my other knitting has been swatching for submissions to Cast On for next summer.

(I don’t want to show those yet.)

Sometimes this process is exhilarating, sometimes it’s plain frantic.  It can be rewarding! Level II of the Master Knitter program prepared me for this quite well, I’m finding.

Next is a pair of toddler hats for our friends who are adopting.

Oh, and the sweater I designed for my friend Bess to knit for our pastor is done, in time for the cold weather.  The yarn is a bit busy, so I only added a little cabling.  Simultaneous set-in sleeves — fun!!

(Sorry, the photos are both a bit blurry.)

Bess sweater for JanJan_in_sweater

One Response to “More KAL-ing, ILL-ing, and Other-ing”

  1. Jean said

    What a great idea, finances are tight for me now and may remain so for some time, I’ll have to check out my local library too! I can still get the seasonal knitting magazine, and will probably limit it to one – Interweave. The sweater turned out quite nice and I’m sure will be worn with much appreciation. The footies look nice and warm too.

Leave a Reply

 
