Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Kilt Hose Mending Done!

Posted by mtmom on July 25, 2009

Aaron cuffsI finished the mending I’ve been doing for Aaron Shaw.  (Hurray!)  His “back-up hose” are ready to mail back.

The workmanship on these, by Debra Gilding of D&D Natural Fiber Co., is awe-inspiring.

Would you believe you’re looking at a seam in the top sock?!

Here’s a summary of my own work on this second pair.

Heel #1, outside

Heel #1, outside

Heel #1, inside

Heel #1, inside

Toe #1, outside

Toe #1, outside

Toe #1, inside

Toe #1, inside

Heel #2, outside

Heel #2, outside

This one nearly made me cry.  See the center part where the reconstructed stitches are looser than the others, making it pucker out?  Geez.  I had thought the first part was maybe too tight and changed needles, but then the middle got too loose and I went back to tighter on the last part.  Once it was all done and I saw that the difference was so visible. . . waah!  I found I was unwilling to undo the work to change it — too many tucked (and trimmed) ends; I’d probably have to undo more stitches to get the ends long enough to tuck in again.  Some of the joins of the new to the old fabric needed reinforcing (with nylon) as it is.

I’m hoping he’ll still be pleased that they’re sound and wearable again.

Heel #2, inside

Heel #2, inside

Toe #2, outside

Toe #2, outside

I varied the original techniques for this heel and this toe, trying to reduce the number of ends to tuck at the finish, like in Sock #1.  For Heel #2 I still unraveled old stitches to get sound ones to join onto and ends to tuck, but I didn’t use separated strands for each row of new stitches.  Toe #2 I did use separate new strands, but I didn’t unravel the old, I just overstitched several old stitches before beginning the patch.  This was fastest, I think.

Toe #2, inside

Toe #2, inside

For a final treat, here’s my Little Miss Adorable-when-she-naps.  cat curled up

One Response to “Kilt Hose Mending Done!”

  1. Excellent way of explaining, and nice paragraph to take data on the
    topic of my presentation focus, which i am going to deliver in university.

Leave a Reply

 
