Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Robert’s First Foot

Posted by mtmom on May 26, 2009

I’ve been working feverishly on these kilt hose.  RWatt sock foot

I ripped that heel all the way once, resumed, then ripped part way twice, then, when I’d completly turned the heel and found the foot too long (sigh), I ripped it all the way back again, plus 2″ or more up the foot.  I had told myself that, if I had to rip again, I’d add in some reinforcing nylon next time, so I did.  And now, here we are, with one foot and about 1/2″ of ankle.  I recounted my stitches and plotted out some possible ribbing patterns.  I’ll be going with k7, p2, k2, p2 . . . with some modification at the ankle to narrow that portion even more.

(See the designer’s brain in action. . . .)  RWatt rib plans

By my calculations, I need to knit on these at least 1 1/2 hours per day, on average, to finish in time.  Must keep the intention flowing!

One Response to “Robert’s First Foot”

  1. Jean said

    Hang in there you can do this! I look forward to seeing the finished kilt hose. I do agree that taking on a bunch of other kilt hose would be too much, it would definately reduce my joy of knitting them.

Leave a Reply

 
