Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

“Congratulations! . . . “

Posted by mtmom on May 23, 2009

I passed Level 2!

(Not to leave you in suspense, it’s just that I really didn’t have much computer time yesterday.)

Some comments, excerpted from my completion letter:  “Your resubmitted swatches and written items were all nicely done.  The edges of your swathes were straight and even.  Seams were all neatly joined. …  The [resubmitted] written instructions read clearly and contain all necessary information. …  You made very good use of the Design’er’s Notes on swatch #16 to include special instructions.  The buttonholes are correctly worked.  The tubular edge on swatach #21 is very nicely done.”

I am now “eligible to apply for Level III,” but haven’t saved up enough knitting-dollars yet.  It’s probably just as well, because I’m currently feverishly working toward a knitting deadline:  the pipers come back to town in early July and I want to finish the commissioned kilt hose before they arrive.  Then I’ll also have time to make any alterations before they leave. RWatt sock

This particular pair is for Robert Watt from Northern Ireland.

Some of the other instructors have expressed interest in handknit pairs as well, but I don’t know if I’ll want to do this.  A custom pair can take 90 knitting-hours and that’s alot of “production knitting” time — not usually my favorite.

The yarn is very nice to work with:  Satakieli 100% worsted-spun wool from Finland.Satakieli green

I also finished a knit cap. honey hat on Ch, profile

I enjoyed the knit, once I figured out the placement of the double-decreases and especially after I realized my in-pattern top-decreases were working out.

I may write this one up, but I’d want to check with Arenda first — she used this stitch pattern in some socks in last spring’s Cast On.

honey hat on Ch, top

5 Responses to ““Congratulations! . . . “”

  1. Carol said

    hi – Congrats on level 2! That’s an accomplishment!
    I started the basics, basics, basics and am trying to decide if I want to dedicate knitting (and spinning and weaving) time to the Masters. Seems like you learn a lot – and obviously you’re intending to go ‘all the way’ – Please keep us updated on your progress – it’s interesting –

  2. Jean said

    That’s wonderful, I knew you would do it. The sock yarn looks nice and warm, and I really like the cap (would definately make my to do list).

  3. Angeluna said

    Yay! Congratulations.

  4. KnittingSuzanne said

    Congratulations on passing Level II. Great hat.

  5. ekgheiy said

    That’s great news!!! Congratulations 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
