Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Finishing, Continuing, and Planning for the Future

Posted by mtmom on April 1, 2009

I saw BUTTERFLIES in our backyard yesterday!  Not much in the way of flowers yet, mostly just a few daffodils, but yellow-orange butterflies have been fluttering around.  (No good photos yet.)

Finishing:

I finished this hat, of TLC Essentials Multi with mixed mystery yarns for brim. 

Continuing:

Second toe of Alpaca Sox yarn is now done with increasing and ready to drop down stitches to put in ribs, bringing it almost up to speed with its sister-toe.   Once I get both toes to 2 1/2″, Cat Bordhi’s New Pathways book tells me to begin increasing for instep/heel — interesting!   I’m planning to use her “Foxglove” architecture.

I have also revivified a month’s-old project, a skirt for youngest DD.  Here you see the first 2″ of waistband.  If it turns out to be a good width, it will be folded around some elastic and stitches picked up along the side to knit downward circularly — at least, that’s my plan.  (My own idea, with influences from Barbara Walker, Knitting from the Top Down.  We’ll see how well it works, eh?)

Planning:

Looking ahead to future projects, in particular the Fair Isle design requirement for Master Knitter Level 3 (No, no news yet; I’m being realistic about how much time this project will take me and want to get started with at least some swatching), I spent an enjoyable afternoon making “sequences” of colors of Shetland yarns.  Here are some pinks and greens, arranged by value (light/dark).  Because these 2 color families are complementary, they might make some interesting combinations.  I’ll probably start with some “virtual swatches” in Excel. . . .

One Response to “Finishing, Continuing, and Planning for the Future”

  1. Jean said

    I have the new pathways book, but it was a little confusing to me. I’ve been knitting from three other books right now. So after a little while I’ll try her book again. You are so good with your instructions, maybe a step by step of your experiences with one of her sock patterns. (just a suggestion, but I learn so much from your blog). The Fair Isle project will be interesting. I’ve seen some gorgeous, intricate vests and incredible sweaters – so many to choose from.

Leave a Reply

 
