Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Argyle Done!!! and hat pattern posted

Posted by mtmom on February 15, 2009

The knitting and embroidery are done; the sock is blocked; only writing/editing remains for Level 2! 

And here’s what the unseamed back side looks like, just held together by pins for purposes of smoothing. 

I learned another important thing, while making this sock.  Dale of Norway’s Neon colors bleed (at least, the yellow does)!  Eek!  But the socks look OK.

I love how the underside of the heel looks, done EZ-style with garter stitch edges on flap; also slipped selvedges and different slants to the decreases. 

Now, all that remains for me to be done with my first pass at Level 2 of the Master Knitter program (I will probably have some items to re-submit after the judging), are the chart for the sock pattern and one more book review, then re-reading and editing my reports and printing out labels for the notebook divider tabs.  The swatches and their tags and paperwork are all done (I think that part was my favorite); the questions are all answered; the projects are tagged and bagged.  Thrilling!  Gotta finish this up soon, so my body can start recovering from all the typing.  (Chiropractor’s orders!)

Another accomplishment from this past week:  I wrote up a pattern for my Square-Top Child’s Knit Cap and posted it for sale on Ravelry.  Readers of this blog have seen several incarnations of this easy-to-start top-down design.  First, the green. . .

… then the Mexicana/Spectrum. . . 

… and, most recently, the Crayon. 

(Notice a running theme in colorways?)

And I’ve started another, to demonstrate to my church group. 

Much more mellow, eh?

One Response to “Argyle Done!!! and hat pattern posted”

  1. Jean said

    I have used a little white vinegar in the water to help set the dye (not too much – about 1 teaspoon for a gallon). I use a 1/2 cup in my washer with whites and sanitizes as well and will also whiten when used in the 1/2 quantity. The socks are striking. I also especially like the bottom photo of your new hat = it really shows the square nicely and the colors remind me of spring.

Leave a Reply

 
