Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Vest Complete!

Posted by mtmom on November 3, 2008

It’s done!!!

I’ve finished the pieces, seamed them, added trim, and tucked in ends.

And it fits!!!

Hurray!

The story:

I began with the back piece, working the plain part until nearly to the underarm.  Then I cast on the front piece, to see exactly how many rows of pattern would fit before I split for the V-neck (I didn’t trust my arithmetic).  I finished the whole front and then went back to the back to add in the lace rows and supplement the neck opening with another 1/2″.  Seamed shoulders and sides, then picked up stitches from provisional cast-ons for bottom trim to be worked in the round.  Armholes next.  Finally the neck trim, which I ripped out once because of flaring.

I am pleased.

I hope the Master’s judges are too!

One Response to “Vest Complete!”

  1. Jean said

    The vest is classic in its lines and there are so many different ways to wear it, it would look great either dressed up or worn casually. I took some photos last friday at the Getty Villa (near Malibu California) and they are appearing on my blog. It may warm you up a bit.

Leave a comment