Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

And more colors

Posted by mtmom on April 10, 2008

In March, I began some experiments in hand-dying yarn.  So far, I have used only food-grade colorants (so that I can safely use my regular kitchen pots and utensils) on KnitPicks “Bare” yarn, Peruvian fingering-weight wool.  handdye and daffodils 

On the left:  black tea (decaf, btw) self-mordanted by tannic acid.  On the right:  yellow-onion skins mordanted with alum.

And daffodils!  Yay!

Our forsythia is also feebly blooming.  forsythia

On the sock-knitting front, I have many, many ideas floating through my mind, but I am limited in how many I can actually execute Right Now.  I am forcing myself to Swatch First when it comes to pushing forward with kilt hose.  Here’s the first experimental cuff.  I even tried adding beads:  silver. . .silver-lined beads on purple cuff 

and reddish/multi. . .red beads on purple cuff

Now, I’m moving on to a simpler cuff in a different yarn.  Perhaps photo(s) next post.  I’m finding it rather stressful, not just casting on another sock and “going for it”.  Easier now though, since I’ve finished the one I didn’t especially like (i.e. the purple).

Have you seen my Twisted Diagonal Scarf?  Twisted Diagonal Scarf

Fun.  The yarn is the “Rodney” colorway in “Duchess” (DK weight) yarn, dyed by Meg of Twisted Fiber Art.  [NB: she’s closed her etsy shop and is in process of opening up her own site.  I don’t yet have an address to link you to.]  The pattern is available free online:  Multidirectional Diagonal Scarf.  This is great waiting-room-knitting — not difficult, but watching the stripes develop keeps the mind interested.

Leave a Reply

 
