Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Knitter’s Heartbreak

Posted by mtmom on March 31, 2008

Oh, wail and moan!  I have to give up the project of my heart (at the moment), the Apple Pie kilt hose I was designing.  This was a project to seek to remedy the shortfalls of the prototype green/blue knee socks — you know, the sagging.  I jumped right back on that horse and cast on for a turn-down cuff, with plans for coordinating garter and leg ribbings.  Ah, the excitement of a new idea, a new plan, the realizing of a new design!  But, alas, it was not meant to be!  At least, not in its first form; not in Apple Pie yarn.

The sad story:

I had bought Apple Pie yarn several times, but  :: ahem ::  had yet to finish a project in it.  The last batch I bought came with a strong smell.  I contacted both vendors from whom I’d bought this yarn in the past.  One told me that this brand was particularly prone to perfumy-ness, the other contacted the dyer and found out what treatment she had used.  Turns out the dyer uses Tide laundry detergent in her final rinse.  I don’t know about you, but, as a chemically-sensitive individual, I find that Tide is something that sets me off every time.  Very uncomfortable.  Contrary to the helpful dyer’s expressed expectations, the smell did *not* go away after washing (and airing outside and rinsing with vinegar etc).  It did dimish somewhat, so that, when dry, the yarn doesn’t knock me over.  But when it gets wet — as this gold did when I test-blocked my cuff — oh my my!  fumes from cuff

I turned on my vent fans and eventually took the cuff out to the clothesline to dry.  Others might find the aroma pleasing, or not notice it at all, but I personally just can’t stand it.  Now, I look at those lovely cakes of colorful wool/mohair/silk-blend  sock-yarn, and I no longer want to have thousands of stitches-worth of it running through my fingers.  {{heartfelt sobbing sigh}}

I.  Have.  Given.  Up.  {{whimper}}

I have not yet decided what to do with the yarn I have:  1 Pot ‘o Gold, 3 Arizona, and 2 Earthly Delights.  Ohhhhh!  {{grimace, moan, sigh!}}

 apple pie reds & goldapple pie browns

2 Responses to “Knitter’s Heartbreak”

  1. Bea said

    Oh no! I was thinking about trying this stuff but I’ll have to think about it now. We don’t do the chemical smells around here either. The smell of wet wool makes crazies in my house so wet wool with tide???

  2. Angeluna said

    Wow Cousin, that Tide sets me off completely, too. Think they changed the formula not so long ago and quadrupled the perfume. I was trying to sleep on sheets washed in it and had to get up in the middle of the night and change the pillowcases and sheets because it made me cough non-stop.

Leave a Reply

 
