Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

8-Trick Pocket Hat is done! And more Beginnings.

Posted by mtmom on March 28, 2008

Spring is proceeding.  Remember the shot of daffodil leaves, a week or so ago?  Well, here they are again, only bigger.  daffodil shoots

We also have tulips coming up.  tulip shoots

I finished the 8-Trick Pocket Hat!  Here it is, just before I grafted the top shut.  8-trick hat, pre-grafting 

This hat has been FUN to knit!  The back-join (see TECHknitting — link in sidebar)continued to give me problems, eventhough I had 4 yarn-changes to practice it on, so I varied it for the last stripe and it worked better for me that way.  Went ahead and darned the ends in more securely than specified. 

I, of course, immediately cast on for another project.  This will be, I hope, a new colorway for my 3-Color Spiral Cap pattern (available free in PDF here and on Ravelry).  I’ll try for truer colors in future photos; this is navy with medium green and light turquoise.  “We’re in the Navy now…!  La da da di dat ti dah.”  top of maritime cap

[BTW, see if you can spot signs of my Little Helper in each of these knitting photos!]

On the sock-design front, I have 2 sock-tops in progress:  one as the beginning of a sampler to show Lord Scott some possibilities. . .  purple sock top

. . . and one for my next pair of knee socks — gotta beat the sag!  gold apple pie sock top

2 Responses to “8-Trick Pocket Hat is done! And more Beginnings.”

  1. Renée said

    Such a cute little cat paw! I have a “helper” like that, too! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving comments. Somehow you must have gotten onto the old posts first! But nice to meet you, too! I check your blog quite regularly. Like your writing style and your beautiful knitting!

  2. Bea said

    The hat turned out really well. I can’t wait to see all those other projects knit up!

Leave a Reply

 
