Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Mystery Revealed: Rubik’s Cube explosion

Posted by mtmom on February 15, 2008

Today, we have a guest blogger!

My teen-genius son will tell us about the origins of this week’s Mystery Photo:  a disassembled Rubik’s Cube.  (Commenters bea and Merri both got it right!)

efforts to repair cube

Thanks Mom!

 In late December and early January, I went to Iowa to volunteer for the Mike Huckabee campaign with a group of about a dozen other homeschoolers.  We drove all the way: two days on the road.  As my best friend Dominic and I were deliberating beforehand about what to do in the van, he mentioned the possibility of learning how to solve a Rubik’s cube.  As a geeky brainiac, I thought that sounded like a great idea.  So I did a bit of research online and found a beginner’s method for solving the Rubik’s Cube.  Unfortunately, the Rubik’s cube made Dominic carsick.  After the trip was over, however, I memorized the various steps.  By the following weekend, I was able to solve any solvable position.

After a lot of practice and some silicone spray, I was able to consistently solve a cube in under 1 minute 45 seconds, with a personal record of 1 minute 21.27 seconds.  Of course that’s nothing compared to some people, and I continued to work toward my goal of solving the cube in under 1 minute.  But it was not to be.  One day as I was working on improving my technique, the cube exploded!  It literally fell apart in my hand.  Rubik’s cubes do disassemble, but they’re not supposed to do so while you’re solving them. . . . This cube did more than fall apart: it actually broke.  The red center piece came off.  It’s supposed to stay attached to the central structure of the cube, even when the cube is taken apart.  No glue I’ve tried will get that central piece to stay attached now.

the guts of a cube

I’m hoping that Rubik’s will replace the cube.

4 Responses to “Mystery Revealed: Rubik’s Cube explosion”

  1. alexmeyer said

    Heh, the same thing happened to my Dad’s cube (I think I was using it and it exploded the same way). And you’re right, glue doesn’t help too much.

    I’ve actually been cubing for a while, my personal best is 26.30, but I average in the mid 30’s. I just started my own blog, and I was searching around for others related to cubing when I found this post.

  2. Carrie said

    That’s how I used to solve them, back in the day. They’re much easier when you take them apart first. 😉

  3. Isabel said

    ribiks cube are really good but they break so easy Cube4you dot com has the best cubes adjustables and they wont explode y really like rubiks cube too bad they have bad cores

  4. mtmom said

    Blog host here. I appreciate all the interest that continues to be shown in this post (I still receive weekly hits, even though this post if over 3 years old now!), but rude or snarky comments (according to my own, personal judgement) are not welcome and will be deleted. I take no position on whether or not Rubik’s cubes should be taken apart, or glued, or whether they are well made. BE CONSIDERATE, Y’ALL. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
