Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Caps of Old, #’s 2 and 3.

Posted by mtmom on December 22, 2007

Another cap or two from the archives, to add to my Notebook.  These, from sometime in 2006.

Originally inspired by Janet Russell’s “Lace Double Cap” in the 1987 book, Homespun Handknit:  Caps Socks Mitens & Gloves (Linda Ligon, ed.), I chose another lace pattern and left off the turn-up brim to produce this cap from 2 balls of Baby Alpaca Brush, back in Feb. and March of 2006 [when we had a LYS — sob!].  Lady Double Cap, 2006

I began at the top of the purple layer and increased down, unto an I-cord bind-off in cream.  Then I picked up stitches in the cord and knit another cap with a lace-pattern from there, decreasing for the second top.  layers spread out

I tried to decrease within the pattern.  top view

I was pleased.

After that, I designed a further variation, less ornate than the first and using Halcyon Yarn’s “Botanica” in two shades of orange.  This one I began at the lacy top with a 6-pointed star/flower with the points continuing down the sides in eyelet-bounded ribs.  top of orange hat

I worked a picot round of YO-k2tog, and then changed to the darker color.  light side out, side view

I made the darker cap all in plain stockinette and decreased for the top in a 6-pointed spiral to match the shaping of the lighter layer.  top of darker layer

I usually wear it with the dark layer showing on top and the lighter brim folded up.  author wearing orange cap  (photo by 4-yr-old dd!)

This is one of 2 of my own caps that I wear frequently.  The other is an EZ “Watchcap” in WoolEase Thick&Quick.  Then, there’s also the EZ Sheepsdown “Maltese Fisherman’s Cap” that’s really my husband’s. . . .   But any more writing about those hats will have to wait.  I’m tryng to keep my Notebook update to a manageable pace — one at a time.

Leave a Reply

 
