Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Fair Isle viscisitudes, and other knitting struggles.

Posted by mtmom on November 4, 2007

I’ve changed my mind about the “missing” color in Sarah Don’s jacket; I now think we see the blue and don’t see the orange.  Here’s why:  close-up of jacket peeries and border

See the groups of 4-blocks-each, between the “chains”?  Well, according to my chart, more of Don's chart that “C” pattern is in “pale blue” and “orange”, just like the border “J” pattern below it.  We see the blue blocks, but not the orange dots.  They must be there. . . .  I’m wondering:  why would she put in colors that hardly show?

I have now moved on into one of the main patterns.  I wish I had a color photo for reference; I’m not  seeing the logic of her color choices.  The background keeps to colors of the same value (darkish) but different hues (dark red, dark blue, and dark green).  The motif foreground colors, also, are all light-valued, but hue-wise unrelated.  I want to see a progression, or relationships between the colors, but I don’t; seems choppy to me.  She utilizes two color schemes for main patterns:

Scheme A:                                     Scheme B:
  blue/yellow                                   blue/ochre
  dk.green/cream                            wine/pink
  wine/beige                                   dk.green/cream
  dk.green/cream                            wine/pink
  blue/yellow.                                   blue/ocre.

She has more contrast in some MC/CC pairs than others:  cream on dark green compared with beige on wine, for instance.  That’s work-with-able, but she puts the greatest contrast sometimes in the center (B), sometimes not (A).  That’s what I meant by “logic” that I’m not perceiving.  Hmmm. . . .  I’ll wait to form my final opinion until after I work more of the design and see it in wool, but I’m thinking I’ll choose for my next band a more traditional Feitelson pattern.

Good progress on the knee socks — past the instep increases and the heel and the ankle decreases, into the straight part of the calf.   But, since this post is focused on “struggles”, I think I’ll save that for another post!

I have definitely been struggling with my intarsia.  the join between intarsia panels  See that joining line? 

My edge-stitches are not as even as I want them to be.  Sometimes, trying harder makes a tension problem worse. . . .  Part of my problem here, I’m sure, is the short, firm cable on the circular needle I’m using — my hands have to work a bit to get the tips together, esp. for purl stitches, making everything harder.  I’ve ordered another needle in this size that I expect will be nicer, but it hasn’t arrived yet and now I’m done with the intarsia portion {hurray!}.  If I were to do this cap over again, I think I’d work the intarsia back and forth flat, and then seam it up the side.  But for now, I’m not sure how much of the unevenness is due to needle-fighting (to be fixed by hardware replacement) and how much comes from my lack of skill (to be improved upon by practice and attention).

My assistant has certainly been doing her best to help keep the multiple strands -errr- untangled. . . .  Chloe helps with intarsia

For more kitty cuteness, try the video link here

One Response to “Fair Isle viscisitudes, and other knitting struggles.”

  1. DeeDee said

    I am so impressed by your ability to study the photo and attempt to figure out the knitter’s reasoning behind the color scheme and placement. I’m also impressed by your commitment to practicing and improving your knitting skills; I love watching your colorwork swatch evolve. Your blog posts are always very informative and inspiring, not to mention entertaining. Adorable kitty BTW.

Leave a Reply

 
