Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

How’re those knee socks coming along?

Posted by mtmom on September 1, 2007

Here’s tonight’s photo:sock on floor

The pins represent 10 rounds each, and save me re-re-(and re-)counting when I go to reproduce the size in the second sock and on paper.

As you can see, I’ve progressed with the calf-shaping almost to the widest point.  My calculations told me I needed to average one pair of increases every 4 rounds.  However, after increasing at that rate for a while, I felt the leg was getting wide too quickly, so I ripped again. — Just a few rounds this time, though. —  And I began again, this time spacing the increase-pairs 5 rounds apart and planning to speed this up only as I got further up the leg.  I think my gauge may have tightened up a bit; I’m getting more rounds to the inch here than I was getting on the foot.

But the fit is looking pretty good!sock on leg

Here’s a close-up of the leg-back decreases and increases.  Two stitches between pairs of +/-‘s.close-up of shaping

I’m rather pleased.  What do you think?

Coming soon:  2007 County Fair ribbons!

One Response to “How’re those knee socks coming along?”

  1. DeeDee said

    Your knee socks/stockings are looking great. The increases and decreases look very neat and tidy and the fit looks awesome. I love the idea of putting a small safety pin every 10 rows to help keep track of the total rows knit; that will be a real time saver when you make the second sock. Will have to add that to my sock knitting tips.

Leave a Reply

 
