Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Two steps forward, one step back.

Posted by mtmom on July 29, 2007

I have had kilt hose on the brain this week (I wonder why? {g}).  I have ordered from Schoolhouse Press THE book on the subject by the Dowager Lady Veronica Gainford, Designs for Knitting Kilt Hose and Knickerbocker Stockings, and begun swatching for sock-gauge with a thick-ish wool (Canadian “Regal”) on small-ish needles.  Swatching for knee socks.  My first goal is to practice custom calf-shaping from measurements.  Keyboard Biologist had 2 very helpful posts on this on January 24 and 26, 2007 –search her site for “toe up knee socks”.  Decorative cuffs would come next in my self-directed-study course.

In the meantime, I continue to work on my Mad to Dance socks, Ice Cream sweater, and entrelac baby blanket.

Ice Cream Sweater.

To recap on the Ice Cream sweater (named for its resemblance to Neopolitan ice cream) I’d begun with Jacqueline Fee’s directions in The Sweater Workshop, adding a front sweatshirt-style pocket to her basic raglan sweater template.  But then I segued to Elizabeth Zimmermann’s  Knitting Without Tears, to construct saddle-shoulders.  Thought that would be more fun and easier to adapt to my personal shoulder shape which is rather angular.  Her penultimate manoever is to work 10 rounds with body-decreases to round the shoulders.  I thought I’d just reduce that to 2 rounds.  What hadn’t occurred to me in all this fiddling was that, if I eliminated 8 planned rounds of shaping at the shoulder, making them indeed more angular, I would also eliminate 8 rounds of vertical armhole depth. . . . 

In my knitting, I reached the point where I had planned to start the horizontal strips and had a moment’s doubt. . . .  I decided to slip half the stitches to a spare circular needle and try it on.  Trying on Ice Cream sweater 

I didn’t think the yoke was fully deep enough.  Close, but not quite.  So I ripped.  {urk!}  Now you see it . . .

  Pile of ripped yarn  now you don’t.

After a false re-start, I eventually ripped to a round before the shaping began, i.e. to about 1″ above the underarm join {sigh} and have resumed from that point.   A bit humbled — not a bad thing — I have decided to go back to JF’s original raglan design.

Entrelac baby blanket.

I haven’t posted about this project before now; it’s currently meant for our local Neonatal Intensize Care Unit.  Yarn is Lion Brand “Microspun” in several colors (Mango and Buttercup used so far); needles are a US size 5 (3.75 mm) bamboo circular; pattern is my own, with guidance from EZ (Spun-Out #31, originally published in 1985 as Wool Gathering #32) and Vogue Knitting magazine (Fall 2006).

Entrelac baby blanket, 2nd

For the future. . . ?

In the back of my mind, I’m looking for a project utilizing the Happiness symbol also known as St. John’s Cross.  It keeps popping up and catching my eye.  Elsebeth Lavold (Viking Patterns for Knitting) and Alice Starmore (Aran Knitting) do it with cables; Sweaters From Camp does it with colors.  Hmm…..

One Response to “Two steps forward, one step back.”

  1. MamaMoo13 said

    I used the Happiness figure in a pillow I knit. I used Elisabeth Lavold’s Viking Knits book and enclosed it in the lattice patternwork. There is a couple of pics of the finished pillow on my blog: http://www.xanga.com/MamaMoo13. I think it is entitled Happiness Pillow.

Leave a Reply

 
