Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Dulaan Cap-in-Progress

Posted by mtmom on June 24, 2007

Today, I am working on the 2-color cap that I intend to donate to the Dulaan project of F.I.R.E. (Flagstaff International Relief Effort) by the July 14th deadline.  As you can see (I hope) from the photos, it is stockinette on the inside. . .

inside of cap . . . as well as the outside.

                                                     outside of cap

This is accomplished by a technique known as double knitting.  While there are several styles of doing it, I am working with both colors at one time and working both surfaces together (vs one pass for each color or for each “side”).   So, for color patterning, I switch which strand I use for the front/back for each individual stitch-pair, purling the inside-stitches and knitting the outside-stitches with whichever strand I choose.  [When my picture-taking ds gets back from his out-of-town trip, perhaps we’ll be able to get some good process photos.]

This is my progress to date.  Dulaan cap, about halfway doneabout one-third done  (older camera – sorry)

Can you see the color-pattern emerging?

Not yet sure how I’ll finish it; to rib or not to rib. . . .

Yarn is Debbie Bliss “merino aran”, colors #325 and #326 (hard to read band #’s), and I’m using US size 7 bamboo circular needle (Plymouth) and dpn’s (Brittany Birch — link).  In general, when double-knitting, use a smaller needle size than you would normally use with your selected yarn — it turns out looser in the end.

ETA:  Finally got the photos to show up.  Don’t know what the problem was. . . .

Leave a Reply

 
