Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Sheep Days

Posted by mtmom on June 13, 2010

I didn’t post last weekend, but here is what I was doing — sheep wrangling 101.

These are freshly-shorn Churro sheep, traditionally raised by the Navajo in this area, waiting to go home from the annual Wool Festival in their trailer.  These particular sheep come from a flock owned by Joe Meehan of the Arizona Historical Society and also of Southwest Skye Pipes and Drums.  He and I were discussing old Scottish, Irish, and Welsh songs, and when the time came to get the sheep into the trailer at the end of each day of the Festival, I got to help.  I would stand at one opening in the fence and prevent them escaping that way, while the more robust helpers chased them around the pen and (eventually) up the ramp and into the trailer.

Knitting-wise, I’ve been working on writing the article on Bavarian Twisted Stitches for Cast On magazine and learning little bits about vector-based graphics versus pixilated fonts.  (My DS is so skilled with this stuff!)  And trying out new yarns and colors for kilt hose — need to be sportweight and manly.

2 Responses to “Sheep Days”

  1. Nancy said

    Churro! Love those churro! I wrote an article on some which were beng raised in Southeastern AZ that was published in 3 local newspapers there. Those churro had wonderful fleeces!

  2. Jean said

    Home sick today and took a moment to check out your blog, sounds like fun, I would have loved to see these sheep. How is their wool? I may be getting a hand me down computer soon (I think next month) and will be able to do more on the internet. Take Care.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

