Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

WIP’s while Waiting

Posted by mtmom on December 6, 2009

I posted my proposal to Cast On in time for the submission-deadline this past week, but probably won’t hear whether they’ve accepted all or part of it until the middle of this coming week.  I’ve been working on my prototype, checking out necklines, gauges, and increase rates, but I figure there’s limited value in working too far on it, in case they select a different yarn or size (or designer). . . ,   so I wouldn’t want to go all the way down to the underarms at this point. . . (would I?). . . . 

In the meantime, I’ve worked on some gift items that might get pushed aside once I hear back from the magazine.  I re-blocked the lace edging on that wonderful neck-scarf I made in the Schoolhouse Press Knitalong back in October (pink and purple Kidsilk Haze — yumm!), to get back the scalloping that my first blocking had straightened.

And I made good progress on a ribbed cap for a former pastor.  It’s a bit more than 7″ tall now, so any more straight knitting will make for the turn-up brim, and then I should move on to the decreases-in-pattern.  I’ve set it aside for today, to take a break, but I hope to finish it before the committee writes to me and knitting time becomes more hectic.  The yarn is Debbie Bliss “Merino Aran” in charcoal, 1×1 rib, on US 8 (5 mm).

I’m in no particular hurry to finish up this hat/scarf set in Noro Silver Thaw (50% wool, 25% angora, 25% nylon, color #5, hat on US 8, scarf looser on US 9).  My plan is to donate it to a charitable craft sale run by the gal who taught me to knit, and that won’t happen again until *next* November.  I’m nearly through the first skein, but have an entire second skein after that!  I can just enjoy the knitting at whatever pace fits in between other, more “urgent” projects.
I’m not *especially* fond of the yarn — I like Silk Garden better — but the set is turning out pretty well.  I consider this part of my series of projects using lots of different types of slow-color-change yarns, including Noro as well as other brands.

I have even worked another set of “Korean” (according to Kaffe Fassett in his KF’s Pattern Library book) stripes on my Fair Isle Sampler Scarf.  It has been snoozing for quite some time, but I pulled it out again today for some restful, non-panicky knitting.  There is something about this project that I find so soothing!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

