Beautiful Knitting

Where Mt.Mom knits, crochets, designs, and seeks Beauty as food for the soul.

Crochet and Knit, both. Also blogiversary!

Posted by mtmom on January 13, 2008

Some Christmas-tide progress on the knee socks.  One and 2/3 socks

But I also have done quite a bit of crocheting in thick chenille since last I wrote.  The (free) pattern for the 2 caps is available in the sidebar.  The brown & white cap you’ve seen before, I believe, but this is the first I’ve blogged about the dusty blue cap with brim.  blue-grey chenille cap

Writing up patterns, particularly in crochet, is new to me.  But the skill is an important part of TKGA’s Master Hand Knitter program, so I’m seeking to gain some facility at it.  Constructive criticism is welcome.  [I say that now.  We'll see how I feel after some take me up on the invitation!  ;-)  ]

I have also recently learned about “blog stats”.  What fun!  Thanks to WordPress, I can view a graph of number of hits over time, and a list of sites from which people followed a link to here.  That can help me to do more of what works to gain knitter-exposure.  Speaking of which, I’d like to hold a giveaway in honor of my one-year blogiversary on January 29.  I’ll send a goodie (I have a particular book in mind) to one person who leaves me a comment between now and Shrove Tuesday/Super Tuesday, 5 Feb. 2008.  Tell me where you heard about my blog, what link you followed or what search you made.

Now, back to knitting content!

Another pattern I’ve written up, eventhough I have not finished the prototype (!) is for this 3-color Spiral Cap.  I enjoy these single-round stripes — learned this technique from Meg Swansen, someplace where she was talking about avoiding jogs in circular color-work (Dubbelmossa?).  I have made a cap in 2-colors of Baby Alpaca Brush before, but using 3 strands is also fun, and the combination of different yarns stimulates even more ideas for more colorways.  Here is Dreamsicle’s beginnings.  start of spiral cap

And then more. . . .  holding up half a cap

See how each round of color ends 3 rounds further down than it started? And yet, the older stripes appear continuous!   trying to show spiral effect

And here, see how I’m about to pick up the lowest/oldest strand (the dark orange) to begin the next round?  large photo of eor

Here I’ve worked a handful of orange stitches past the end-of-round shown in the photo just above, so you see the imtermediate rounds being scrunched as I resume using the color from 3 rounds down without twisting it around any other strands — very important.  another way to show spiral 

One tip for success with this technique:  don’t pull the first stitch of the new round very tight.  Tightness doesn’t help make the transition smooth; leaving it a bit loose helps the stitches even out later once they’re away from the “scrunch zone”.

Next post (Lord willing):  more Master Knitter swatches.  Thank you for reading!

5 Responses to “Crochet and Knit, both. Also blogiversary!”

  1. Juliann said

    I typed in “knitting” in blog search, and found some blogs I haven’t read yet. There are so many blogs and just not enough time for reading, but I find inspiration and fun projects from reading them. Happy Anniversary!

  2. bea said

    I honestly don’t know how I found your blog. I was checking my bloglines one day and you were there and I started reading. Thats really all I remember. I figure I must have clicked a link on someone elses blog and put it in bloglines to remember to check you out because I didn’t have time that day or something. You’ve been there ever since.

  3. joezgal said

    Congrats on your upcoming blogiversary! I always enjoy reading your posts; your commitment to improving your knitting skills inspires me. I have a WordPress blog myself and I found the Beautiful Knitting blog using tag surfer in WordPress administration. I immediately subscribed to your feed and you’re one of the knitting blogs that I consistently read. Your knee socks prototype is looking good; can’t wait to see the real thing after you’ve perfected the pattern!

  4. Keep those comments coming!

    Deadline will be at noon Mt. Standard Time, 5 Feb. 2008. (Is that 8 a.m. GMT? Give or take an hour…or 2.)

    The randomly-selected “winner” will get to choose between some books: a Debbie Bliss collection, or, if I can get my hands back on it, a yarn harlot book, or another less famous but still useful title.

  5. Nicole said

    Congratulations on your blogiversary!

    I probably found your blog the same way Juliann did. That’s how I find most of them, anyway. I am not very organized about the blogs I visit, though – this time, I got here by typing in the blog address that was written on a scrap of paper.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

